Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dplandry
Regular Visitor

EXTRACT DATA FROM TABLES BEFORE ARCHIVE

Hey guys

I'm pretty new to Power BI, but am learning fast and loving it.   I am trying to build a report on deleviry effeciency, but the main table I need to use to pull data is archived such that only the recent 6 months of data ramains in the table....beyond that it's moved to another archive table.  I'm having issues getting the data from the sales orders to pull from each table.  Is there a way to extra the data from the current data into a new table before it's archived and removed?

Thanks

Dwaye

4 REPLIES 4

Hi!

What troubles do you face when you extract the data from both, the "current" and the "archive" table?

This should work pretty straight forward.

I am not aware of a possibility to extract data (from your "current" table) and "hold" it in PowerBI without getting it refreshed.

Markus Ehrenmueller-Jensen
@MEhrenmueller

I'm having a problem linking the current table to the archive table. In the order table, the sales order appears once. The archive table holds sales order lines so the sales order appears more than once so I'm having issues linking them. If I use the main table, I only get 6 months of sales orders.

@dplandry wrote:
I'm having a problem linking the current table to the archive table. In the order table, the sales order appears once. The archive table holds sales order lines so the sales order appears more than once so I'm having issues linking them. If I use the main table, I only get 6 months of sales orders.

Hi @dplandry,