Reply
Established Member
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎03-31-2016
Accepted Solution

ESRI Failed to locate 1 feature

I like ESRI maps and use them all the time. 1 thing that really bugs me though is that even using lat long, rounded to 2 decimal places it still can't locate certain points. Frustratingly there is no way to debug this or find out which one is causing the issue.

 

This makes the map look shoddy. These are all valid points because when I use a bing maps next to it it finds them all? Anyone got any good tips to get these to map all points?

 

map.PNG


Accepted Solutions
Established Member
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎03-31-2016

Re: ESRI Failed to locate 1 feature

This is the workaround example to make it work.

 

Lat = if(DimSwitchDoorLookup[latitude]=0.00,0.001,DimSwitchDoorLookup[latitude])

View solution in original post


All Replies
Community Support Team
Posts: 4,034
Registered: ‎07-09-2016

Re: ESRI Failed to locate 1 feature

@gooranga1,

 

You may take a look at link below.

https://doc.arcgis.com/en/maps-for-powerbi/get-started/prepare-your-data.htm

Community Support Team _ Sam Zha
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Established Member
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎03-31-2016

Re: ESRI Failed to locate 1 feature

Hi Thanks @v-chuncz-msft,

 

I took a look at this but there is only a small paragrah on lat longs.

 

I only have 223 points to map, they are rounded down to 2 dec places and I have checked each one and they are all valid. 

 

But I think I have found the issue and to me it looks like a bug.

 

I have a lat 51.68 and a long of 0.00 which is a perfectly valid lat long, but ESRI maps will fail to plot that point on my maps in power bi. In a test pbix file I have tried this as well same result yet when I manually chnage the lat long to lat 51.68, long 0.001 hey presto it maps it.

 

Looks like the mapping isn't taking into account 0.00 as valid lat longs to me.

 

 

Established Member
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎03-31-2016

Re: ESRI Failed to locate 1 feature

This is the workaround example to make it work.

 

Lat = if(DimSwitchDoorLookup[latitude]=0.00,0.001,DimSwitchDoorLookup[latitude])
Highlighted
Community Support Team
Posts: 4,034
Registered: ‎07-09-2016

Re: ESRI Failed to locate 1 feature

@gooranga1,

 

Thanks for sharing this. You may help accept solution. Your contribution is highly appreciated.

Community Support Team _ Sam Zha
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.