Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Dynamically compare measures

Hi all

Simply put - I need to dinamically compare (percentage between the two) two different matrix tables with measures on it as I change the period. Have wandered through a variety of topics searching for a solution and the closest I get is this one but don't really address the fact I need to compare between different measures: https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/Dynamically-Compare-the-Value-of-Two-Periods/ba-p/15...

I'm relatively new to PBI too so I might have overlooked an existing topic - I apologize in advance!

I have two matrix tables looking exactly the same with the same filters applied to it - except for the period. There's around 15 different measures (expenses per kilo) hence I think there has to be a smart way to do it.

The matrix tables look a little bit like this:

PeriodJan

Expense 1 per kilo<value>
Expense 2 per kilo<value>
Expense 3 per kilo<value>

PeriodFeb

Expense 1 per kilo<value>
Expense 2 per kilo<value>
Expense 3 per kilo<value>

And my database looks like this:

PeriodAttributeValueStateSupplier
JanExpense 150FloridaABC
JanExpense 260FloridaABC
JanTotal kilograms15FloridaABC

In this case I'd like to compare Feb to Jan and whatever period I filter there.

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-robertq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @Anonymous 

According to your description, I can roughly understand your requirement, I think you can achieve this using Matrix and “Edit interactions”, you can try my steps:

1. Create two same slicers and two same matrices, place them like this:

v-robertq-msft_0-1620182698178.png

1. Go to the “Edit interactions”, set the interaction for the two slicers like this:

v-robertq-msft_1-1620182698181.png