Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AbdulAzad
Frequent Visitor

Dynamically Add or Remove Dimension or attributes to a table visual using a slicer selection

Hi, I am pretty new to Power BI, I wanted to show and hide columns in a table visual based on slicer selection, columns are like Effective_Date, Purchase_Date, Quantity, Order_Number. How can I achieve this. I have seen so many videos of show/hide columns on measures not on dimension or attribute or date columns. Your help on this will be much appreciated. Thanks & Regards, A
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Jimmy,

It didn't solve to the extent I expected, because I wanted even dimensions to be shown and hidden based on slicer selection, the solution provided will not work, if I try to pivot my table on huge volumes of data. Where I used the DAX expressions to hide and display only measures not the dimensions at this point of time.

Thanks & Regards,

Abdul

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
ricardomadaleno
Frequent Visitor

Hi, did you ever found a solution?

I am interested in doing something similar to this.

Thanks

itsmebvk
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor

Please see the attached PBIX .

Follow these steps:

1) Import data in to Power BI I am using excel as source

2) Then you need to insert index column on Query 1 (if you don't have any key column)

3) Then you need to duplicate your Query1 as Query2

4) Then remove unnecessary columns from Query2 except the columns you want in slicer and Index column. In this example I have used Plant,Turbine, Index

5) Then select Plant and Turbine column in Query 2>Right Click>Unpivot

6) Now you will see new column names as Attribute and Values in Query2

7) Now use Query 2 Attribute column as slicer

😎 Add a bar chart to the report then add Value from Query2 to Bar chart