Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

scott3387
Frequent Visitor

Dynamic Standard Deviation for control charts.

Hello,

I'm pretty new to Power BI so please forgive me if this is trivial or unnesscarly complicated.

I have data stored like this...

Event DateModalityUpdatedTextSuspected referralExams
01/11/2018CT03 - Suspected lung cancer2
01/11/2018CT06 - Suspected upper gastrointestinal cancers2
01/11/2018CT07 - Suspected lower gastrointestinal cancers14
01/11/2018CT11 - Suspected urological cancers (excluding testicular)2
01/11/2018Mammography01 - Suspected breast cancer21
01/11/2018Mammography16 - Exhibited (non-cancer) breast symptoms - cancer not initially suspected5
01/11/2018MRI04 - Suspected haematological malignancies excluding acute leukaemia2
01/11/2018MRI11 - Suspected urological cancers (excluding testicular)1
01/11/2018MRI13 - Suspected head & neck cancers3
01/11/2018MRI 1
02/11/2018CT01 - Suspected breast cancer3
02/11/2018CT06 - Suspected upper gastrointestinal cancers2

I'm trying to create report that would allow the user to generate SPC (control) charts. This chart would change automatically based on  the slicers selected. These slicers would be date, referral type or modality.

A SPC Chart has the total as a line and 3 constant lines:

• Mean
  • Upper limit (mean + 3 SD)
  • Lower limit (mean - 3 SD)

Basically it's just a line chart with 3 straight lines on it. However I would like these lines to change to show only data that has been selected via slicers.

I figured out a mean could be created by making a measure with the formula below and dragging it to the chart.

CALCULATE ( SUM ( exams[Exams] ), ALLSELECTED( exams ) )
/ CALCULATE ( DISTINCTCOUNT ( exams[Event Date] ), allselected( exams ) )