Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

nisuomi
Resolver I
Resolver I

Dynamic Row Level Security with Two path?

Hello,

I am quite new in the world of Row Level Security in Power BI. I have managed to create few scenarios that work just fine, but now we have a problem where we should somehow go around the current RLS if the user has something on the other table as well.

Scenario: Dynamic Azure AD is used with USERPRINCIPALNAME() to get user's email address, we have excel-where we have the rights that needs to be given to the user. This uses the basic path() and hierarchy level RLS basics that are all over the Internet on every tutorial you can find about RLS. I have even made a separate if() clause where we can override the current RLS if there is a special case marked - there is a separate QA about this on the board. Now we have a situation, where we would need to add again a new layer to the Row Level Security: If the user has a certain client assigned to him\her, the user needs to see all the data about the client - no matter the current path things. BUT, it should also take into notice the current PATH() & hierarchy RLS, so that can't be ditched. In a way, these two needs to be working together side by side..