Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Jim_brower
Frequent Visitor

Dynamic Measures, Dax using Switch for Escalation Rates, CPI

RateLookup2017 = SWITCH(VALUES('Escalation'[Escalation]),"Material 1", LOOKUPVALUE('Escalation Rates'[2017],'Escalation Rates'[Category],"Material 1"),"Material 2",LOOKUPVALUE('Escalation Rates'[2017],'Escalation Rates'[Category],"Material 2"),"Material 3",LOOKUPVALUE('Escalation Rates'[2017],'Escalation Rates'[Category],"Material 3"),1)

Hi Community
I am relatively new to DAX - and hoping to get some help on this calculation (before I go back to SQL 🙂 ) I am trying to create a dynamic calculation for Nomincal vs Constant dollars based on multiple rates.

I have 2 main formulas (but is not applying the way I was hoping)

1. Step 1 - Find Rates by Category and Year
    RateLookup2017 = SWITCH(VALUES('Escalation'[Escalation]),"Material 1", LOOKUPVALUE('Escalation Rates'[2017],'Escalation Rates'[Category],"Material 1"),"Material 2",LOOKUPVALUE('Escalation Rates'[2017],'Escalation Rates'[Category],"Material 2"),"Material 3",LOOKUPVALUE('Escalation Rates'[2017],'Escalation Rates'[Category],"Material 3"),1)
  2. Step 2 - Apply Rates based on Selection of Nominal vs Constant
    2017 Dynamic = IF(HASONEFILTER('Escalation'[Escalation]), 
            SWITCH(
                VALUES('Escalation'[Escalation]),
                "Constant",
                CALCULATE(Sum(Data[Amount]),Data[Year] IN {2017} ),
                "Nominal",
                [RateLookup2017]*CALCULATE(SUM(Data[Amount]),Data[Year] IN {2017} )
                ,BLANK()),Blank())