Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Dynamic M Code

I have zero knowledge on M code. I am getting a Date table from the SQL database to power bi cube. It's dates goes up to year 2024. I want to limit it to until next March 31from the current date dynamically.

Thank you 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous I think I got it!

let
    Source = Sql.Databases("DatabaseName"),
    AdventureWorksDW2012 = Source{[Name="AdventureWorksDW2012"]}[Data],
    dbo_DimDate = AdventureWorksDW2012{[Schema="dbo",Item="DimDate"]}[Data],
    #"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(dbo_DimDate, 
        each if [FullDateAlternateKey] <= #date(Date.Year(DateTime.LocalNow()), 3, 31) 
        then [FullDateAlternateKey] <= #date(Date.Year(DateTime.LocalNow()), 3, 31) 
        else [FullDateAlternateKey] <= #date(Date.Year(DateTime.LocalNow()) + 1, 3, 31)
    )
in
    #"Filtered Rows"

Try it out and let me know!  🙂

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
littlemojopuppy
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous sorry this and the other question took a couple of days to resolve.  Would appreciate you marking the solution in both this and the original question.

Happy holiday!

PhilipTreacy
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous 

Yes I understand that you have a date table from SQL but if you only want a finite list of dates from today until the next Mar 31, isn't it just as easy (easier?) to create that list rather than load a list of dates then manipulate them to exclude dates/rows you don't want?

Or maybe there is more to it?  Are you loading more than just dates from SQL?  If so, are you talking about needing to filter out rows so that you keep any additiona data in each record, not just the dates?

regards

Phil