cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
RoryT Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Drillthrough deselected on save and reopen

I have a report in Power BI Desktop that includes a few tables on the first page that allow the reader to drillthrough to other pages in the report. I designate the tables for drillthrough in the Data / Drill > Drillthrough. However, after saving and re-opening this option become deselected again. Is it possible to permanently designate tables for drillthrough?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Microsoft v-yulgu-msft
Microsoft

Re: Drillthrough deselected on save and reopen

Hi @RoryT,

 

Unfortunately, there is no method to keep the deselected state after saving and closing report file.

 

Regards,

Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Microsoft v-yulgu-msft
Microsoft

Re: Drillthrough deselected on save and reopen

Hi @RoryT,

 



I designate the tables for drillthrough in the Data / Drill > Drillthrough. 


Do you refer to the Drillthrough button?

2.PNG

 

Could you provide more description about how you "designate the tables for drillthrough" via this option?

 

Regards,

Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
RoryT Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Drillthrough deselected on save and reopen

Hi Yuliana (@v-yulgu-msft),

 

Yes, that's the button I'm referring to. I select the table, then select that drillthrough button - it seems to stay selected within a single session, but reverts back to the deselected state after saving and closing. Is there a way to make this persist?

 

Thank you for your help

Microsoft v-yulgu-msft
Microsoft

Re: Drillthrough deselected on save and reopen

Hi @RoryT,

 

Unfortunately, there is no method to keep the deselected state after saving and closing report file.

 

Regards,

Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

RoryT Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Drillthrough deselected on save and reopen

Thank you for the confirmation Yuliana (@v-yulgu-msft). If you don't mind, what's the intended use-case for the button? Clearly my usage isn't correct. 

Hakase Visitor
Visitor

Re: Drillthrough deselected on save and reopen

I would like this to be an option as well. I have a report that another department will be selecting some of our sites from a list to drill down to another page to give asset information. It would be easier if they could just click once for drillthrough and then again to the asset page rather than rightclicking and going to drillthrough. Seems very arbiturary but with drillthrough not selected it just filters the page like normal (since it's a table) and when you work IT and trying to explain this stuff to non-IT can be hasslesome.

 

I dont really see a reason for this button otherwise if it only works in your one session of BI.

Helpful resources

Announcements
Exclusive LIVE Community Event #3 – Ask Arun Anything

Exclusive LIVE Community Event #3 – Ask Arun Anything

Join us in the third Triple A event!

Meet the 2020 Season 1 Power BI Super Users!

Meet the 2020 Season 1 Power BI Super Users!

It’s the start of a new Super User season! Learn all about the new Super Users and brand-new tiered recognition system.

January 2020 Community Highlights

January 2020 Community Highlights

Make sure you didn't miss any of the things that happened in the community in January!

Top Solution Authors
Top Kudoed Authors