Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gbat

Drill down column names

Hi 

I am fairly new to Power BI so please forgive what may be a fairly basic question.  I have 4 visualisations on a page which are showing various facts about a workflow system we have and where workflows are in the process.   Our company hierarchy is

Business Unit (e.g. Property)

Division (eg. Corporate)

Team (eg. US)

Handler. (eg. GBAT)

On one of the visualisations when drill down from Business Unit (Property), the report column name then just shows the division 'Corporate' and then when I drill down from there it goes to 'US' and so on.

However on another visual I have I don't lose the parent I drilled down from so I get columns names:

Property <drill down to> 

Property Corporate <drill down to>

Property Corporate US <drill down to>

Property Corporate US GBAT

In reality our unit names are much longer so by the time you have drilled down 3 levels all the user can effectively see is the first two levels.

Can anyone advise how to lose the repeating prefixes from the parent drill down?

Many thanks 

GBAT

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi again

I have managed to resolve the issue by recreating the visualization from scratch. So not quite sure what i did wrong.

Anyway thanks for your help.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Use the double arrow drill down, not the branched double arrow drill down. Might depend on the visualizations. Which visualizations are you using and on which one are you getting the behavior?

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)