Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BCurtis

Does each report need its own model?

Hello,

I'm not new to reporting but I'm new to BI and data modelling in general. I'm just getting started.

I'm hoping to have as few models as possible to power as many reports as possible. I want to avoid maintenance on hundreds of models when things change or break.

Is this the right way to go about it? I'm trying to implement a date table, but I'm very confused on creating the date relationships.

For example, a user table might have "User Created" date

But then an order table might have "Order Placed" date

Then I might have a "Worker joined" date

And a "Worker completed order" date

I prefer to have one model that report builders can build from, but its beginning to look more and more like I need to have one model per report... 

Sorry, I know this question is probably the basic fundementals and I missed something somewhere early on. But can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

You need to create a date table(calendar) and it should all possible things you need. Like financial year, month-year, month-year sort etc.

Make sure you have star -schema recommended by power bi too. Refer -https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/guidance/

Powerbi Allows more than one date to join with date calendar and change join based on need using userelation.

Refer  example in Hire and termination : HR-Analytics-Active-Employee-Hire-and-Termination-trend

To get the best of the time intelligence function. Make sure you have a date calendar and it has been marked as the date in model view. Also, join it with the date column of your fact/s.

Refer
https://radacad.com/creating-calendar-table-in-power-bi-using-dax-functions