Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

daniegajohnson
Frequent Visitor

Do I need start date in lookup table for show names?

I am new to Power BI and am still trying to work out how things relate between Data Tables and Lookup Tables (Avi Singh's method). I work at a museum that has regularly scheduled public programing in our planetarium theater. Our scheduling database works like this: 1 program has 6 events daily, 6 days a week during the summer and 2 days a week the rest of the year. When I run a query whose result fields are Program Name, Event Name, and Start Date, the query returns 13,815 results. One result for every single program event we've ever scheduled. When I removed the Start Date field, the query shortens down to 557 results, one result for every unique program name and program event name combination. One of the companion data tables for this is my ticket sales query. The other data table with program event start date would be my discount query. Addidng the start date to those queries doesn't add extra rows, just an extra column. My question is, where is the best place to put the start date data? Should it be in both the lookup tables and data tables? My desire in the end is to be able to ask Power BI about specific program events. I would like to ask, on Saturday, January 11, tell me the sales revenue of the 11:30 show.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

That seems weird as Power BI does detect a double value. Even if you column only has 1 duplicate, it is not a unique value anymore. A likely scenario is that you have some bogus rows in you dimension table with BLANK values. Two rows with blank value for Show ID will result in a non-unique table.