Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GavRay
Regular Visitor

Distinct count active customer by month

Hi everyone

I've been looking around the community for something that might provide an answer to my problem. As with most, I am new to Power BI, specifically DAX, and am trying to build my own data model that tracks my client's data each month for me to report on and share with them.

I am at the point now where I need to do (what seems should be) a simple calculation that produces ccount of active clients per month. Something along the lines of Active clients = total clients - cancelled clients

My Customer table has customer ID, start date, cancelled date and I have the relationship with the Calendar table.

what I am struggling with is the correct DAX calculation that works out the cancelled cliets per month

Can anyone assist, or point me to where the answer already lies within the forum, most answers are around sales, but I am only looking for active customer number comparisons.

3 REPLIES 3
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @GavRay

According to your explanation, it seems my previous answer has something missing of the active customer.

As you said, active customers are who have null value in the [cancelled date].

Create calculated columns

month = MONTH([start date])

year = YEAR([start date])

month/year = CONCATENATE(CONCATENATE([month],"/"),[year])

active customer =
CALCULATE (
    DISTINCTCOUNT ( Sheet4[customer name] ),
    FILTER (
        ALLEXCEPT ( Sheet4, Sheet4[group], Sheet4[month/year] ),
        ISBLANK ( [cancell date] )
    )
)

20.png21.png

Best Regards

Maggie

v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @GavRay

Look at my test.

Since it is not clear which client should be considerd to be cancelled, I assume the condition is: