cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Christian Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Display this week & this month data

I am new in using Power BI, but for me it is a little bit strange that it is so "complicated" to display values for the current month. Call me stupid, but in my opinion this should be possible just with one click in the chart properties or somehting like that.

For me the solution with the extra column and 0 or 1 values fitted the best, but I have an additional question which refers to the problem above. Is it possible to display a Text with the current month in the Dashboard like a headline?

elliotdixon Member

Hi @Christian I have the same issue.

To get around this I created a column called Month-Year and then put it on the report as a Multi-Row-Card visual.

When the filters applied to the page change the value in that column will change. The top Jan-2016 is driven by what is selected in the filters. e.g.

MonthSummary.png

This works as filters are applied.

Other option could be if you applied the isinlastmonth = 1 as a filter on the entire page. This will remove the need for those two manual filters to constantly be changed and should just always show the previous month.

Rgds, ED

kenthub Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

@cwayne758 Hi can you show me a screen grab of where you put this along with an example use of the funciton? Thanks in advance!

B_Real Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Great post by @elliotdixon! So you've got a bunch of filters to determine whether something falls within last 7 days, or last 30 days, or this year. This is fine if we want to apply just one of the filters to the dashboard. But what if we want the user to select which filter to show? For example, say we have these three filters:

IsInCurrentWeek

IsInLastWeek

IsLast30Days

Can we show a single filter in the dashboard so that the user can select which one of those three filters (current week, last week, or last 30 days)?