Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

deevo
Frequent Visitor

Display all Projects that have overlapping start and end dates based on a selected project

Hi All,

I am new to PowerBI and require some assistance after many hours of reading and going round in circles.

What I have:

• Projects table and a date table

deevo_0-1661414042198.png

What I am trying to achieve:

• I would like to be able to select any project name from a dropdown list
  • Then I would like the selected project details to be displayed in the middle visual table
  • Then I would like to display in the bottom table, all other projects that have an overlapping start and/or finish date of the selected project.
  • In the below screenshot, I have selected "TestDish" and I expect to see the 3 highlighted projects because their start "and/or" end dates overlap.

deevo_2-1661414852342.png

Problem i am having:

• Writing my measure to find the overlapping start "and/or" end dates of any other project and to exclude the selected one

What I think I need:

• A measure that I can calculate if the start "and/or" end dates overlap, then return a 1 (true) or a 0 (false) next to each project  in a new column; and
  • then apply this measure in the visual filter of the bottom table to only show the projects that have a value of 1.
  • I have found this dax code and tried to implement this, but I feel abit lost.
    • Range = var StartRange=FIRSTDATE('Date Table'[Date]) var EndRange=LASTDATE('Date Table'[Date]) return if( SELECTEDVALUE(Projects[Start Date])>= StartRange && SELECTEDVALUE(Projects[End Date])<=EndRange && SELECTEDVALUE(Projects[End Date])<>BLANK(), 1,0)

I have shared the pbix file foir your viewing. it is just dummy data.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1P40ibQunjiB5oAe-yOeNeobRN7L9I0if/view?usp=sharing