Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ChuckChuck
Helper I
Helper I

Display a fixed value from one table to a table that has many related records without duplicating.

Hello, 

I'm new to Power BI and more importantly to DAX. I have what is probably something of a simply issue, but no matter how much time I spend trying to get a working solution, I keep coming up short. 

I have a table that stores a list of customers underneath a workstream. One customer cannot belong to more than one workstream. Each customer has a defined goal that will not change. A second table stores customers and their actual monthly values. Because this table stores monthly actuals, a single customer will be listed many times. In my visiual, the goal is being added each time for each monthly instace of the same customer. How can I avoid this behaviour and report the overall goal at the customer level, which rolls up to the workstream level as a subtotal, without subtotalling it for each related monthly record?

5 REPLIES 5
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Having a difficult time picturing this in my head. Can you supply sample or mocked up data with what you are trying to achieve? There is almost certainly an answer but I can't piece it together from what you have described.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

Smourpre,