Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Disable Refresh

Hi, 
I am new to Power Bi so I hope I will be explicit enough with my doubts..

I am working with SQL Server database however I find real annoying that every step I make Power Bi desktop has to refresh the data and update the visuals. I prefer that it just stops doing that after the first load of data and after that only work with that "sample" and if I need I just turn on the refresh. Also this affets me when working offline that I can't do anything because is always trying to connect to the database.

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

hi @FilipeSantos_pt ,

One approach is to create measures in the Data view; this way reports/visuals will not refresh everytime you create a new or exit from an existing measure as seen in below screen grab

DB Connection 2.jpg

Another approach you can try is to create/edit measures with a focus on an empty report sheet.

This way visuals will not attempt to refresh everytime you create a new or exit from an existing measures

DB Connection 3.jpg

I have tried this approach with a report file with imported data and a report connected to a live dataset but out of network - and I am able to create measures without any errors. 

Let me know if I am missing any steps you are performing. Thanks! 

Please mark the post as a solution if my comment helped with solving your issue. Thanks! 

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Appreciate your Kudos!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
londonmap
Regular Visitor

the second method works perfectly with direct entry models.  You have saved me a huge amount of time.

Thanks....

Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User