Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

DirectQuery : Images management

Hi,

I'm new with PowerBI and getting my first struggle with Image Management.

I work on a reporting project with DirectQuery and R Scripts. I'm on a Microsoft environment with Azure, OneDrive...

Actualy the data come from a Tabular.

My main issue is  when working with DirectQuery : Data manipulation is impossible in PowerBI when used as DirectQuery (am I right?).

The workaround I saw was to use embeded links (from google, OneDrive...) or base64 URI stored in a Table column, then change data type on power BI desktop

As i'm a rookie searching in every direction, I'm wondering how you would solve this requirement 🙂

Thanks for helping the community 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I think the Terminology is too loosely thrown out here. Direct Query and Live Connection to an Analysis Services Instance are two different things.

When you connect using Direct Query, The following are the list of things you can do

• You can Create Measures for the Table
  • You can import Data from other Sources like Excel, Flat Files or Even other Databases.
  • Data Resides in the Database itself which means you would not be able to Create new columns onto existing Tables

When you connect to a Tabular Model (SSAS), there are essentially two types 

• Import
    • The Data (Tables) in the Cube would be imported in to the Power BI Model.  
  • Live Connection