Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Direct Query - Limits ability to manipulate data (removes the Data section)

I am new to Power BI and have tried to get up to speed on Direct Query vs. Import.  Most makes sense from the research I have done but I am still struggling with users saying that Direct Query limiting the ability to manipulate data. Obviously there is no "Data" section but I don't see where I can't perform the same functions that I can in Import.

Looking for some help on what I can't do from a data manipulation standpoint in Direct Query.

Thanks,

Z

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous,

Yes, you create a table visual including all the columns, you will view all data you loaded.

Best Regards,
Angelia

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Anonymous,

Yes, there is no data section in Direct Query model. There are some limitations in Power Query. For example, you can't create a new table, There is a 1 million row limit for returning data when using DirectQuery and so on. More details, please review the limiations part in articles: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/desktop-use-directquery and https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/desktop-directquery-about.

>> I don't see where I can't perform the same functions that I can in Import.

You can create column and measure by selecting File > Options and then Settings > Options > DirectQuery, then selecting the option Allow unrestricted measures in DirectQuery mode. Then right click the table->New Column or New Measure as follows(I test getting data from SQL Server in Direct Query Mode).

3.png