Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Pammy2411
Frequent Visitor

Different Date Types for same Column

Hi,

I am new to power bi so apologies if this is an obvious question.

I have a column called KPI and a different column with Values in it. However, depending on the KPI, different data types should be used (Integers or percentages) when displayed on, for example, a matrix.

Is it possible to do this in Power BI?

Thanks in advance,

Pamela

13 REPLIES 13
hectorv1
Frequent Visitor

It is possible to show different formats in the same column for a TableMatrix as shown below.  In a Matrix use the formatting Values option "Show in Rows".

TableColumnComparison-Updated.png

This post show a full sample from the picture:

http://hectorv.com/table-or-matrix-for-side-by-side-column-comparison-with-columns-with-different-fo...

Anonymous
Not applicable

@hectorv1  can we use all those rows (units, profit..) on a single filter / slicer? 

AsadHamdani
Regular Visitor

Hi,

You can very easily create a New Column, and use the IF formula to conditionally format each Row's value based on the values in your KPI column.

So, if e.g. your Table's name is Table1, and it has two columns "KPI", and "Figure", where KPI column contains labels such as "Hits", "Conversion", and you want to convert each Conversion figure as % but all other as Integers or a Standard Number, you can use the following formula in a New Column to conditionally format each row:

New Column = IF(Table1[KPI]="Conversion",FORMAT(Table1[Figure],"Percent"),FORMAT(Table1[Figure],"Standard"))

Different Data Formats in Single Columns Power BI.PNG

For more FORMAT options, you can visit these links:

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee634561(v=sql.105).aspx

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee634206(v=sql.105).aspx