cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
bw70316 Member

Difference of Revenue on Month to Month Basis

I have looked into this with LASTMONTH and DATEBETWEEN and have had no luck. Perhaps I am doing something wrong. I have a Master Date table connected to my Revenue Table which includes Revenue Received Dates. I am trying to display the data in a matrix, but naturally I don't want them to add onto one another. Instead, I would like to see the month's total for each row. I feel like I can do this with a Calculate(SUM('Rev'Revenues Rec),'Rev Item'='July' and do the same for August and subtract the two for each month, but that seems ridiculous. Below is an example of my rev rec:

July: $1,959,814

August: $3,925,980
September: $5,855,582
October: $7,910,275

November: $9,155,231

TOTAL:$28,806,885

I would like the total to be the November number of 9,155,231 instead of the addition. Thanks for any help!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Difference of Revenue on Month to Month Basis

Hi @bw70316,

Based on my test, you could refer to below steps:

Sample data:

1.PNG

Create below calculated columns:

Index = RANKX('Table1','Table1'[Value],,ASC,Dense)
Value_ = var a=Table1[Index]-1
return [Value]-CALCULATE(SUM(Table1[Value]),FILTER('Table1','Table1'[Index]=a))

Result:

1.PNG

Regards,

Daniel He

Community Support Team _ Daniel He
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
4 REPLIES 4
Super User
Super User

Seems like there are multiple issues here but I can't exactly say what they are from the information given. However, seems like you could make use of:

See if my Time Intelligence the Hard Way provides a different way of accomplishing what you are going for.

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Quick-Measures-Gallery/Time-Intelligence-quot-The-Hard-Way-quot-TIT...