Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

cyberninja
Regular Visitor

Determine average quote amount for a sales opportunity

Pardon me, I am just getting started with Power BI.  

All within the same table, I have an OrderQuoteID which is unique.  Some OpportunityIds have multiple quotes underneath each.  I would like to total the Quote Amounts for a particular Opportunity, then divide by the number of quotes for that Opportunity, so I can determine what the average quote is for every Opportunity.  Data example below -

This is what I have now -

Table: vSummaryQuote

Quot_OrderQuoteIDOppo_OpportunityIdQuot_isquoteQuot_Amount

Based on the data above, I would need to be able to return a column similar to below to make a simple bar graph -

Oppo_OpportunityIdAvgQuotePerOpportunity

Thoughts on how I can accomplish this?

Much thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @cyberninja,

Using AVERAGE function is not efficient. Because AVERAGE function calculates the arithmetic mean of the numbers in the column itself. In your scenario, you want to get average quote for every Opportunity based on Quot_isquote and Quote Amounts, there are in different columns.

You should create the measures to calculate the count of Quotes, the sum of amount. Then calculate average for every Opportunity as follows.

Count = CALCULATE(COUNT(Test1[Quot_isquote]),ALLEXCEPT(Test1,Test1[Oppo_OpportunityId]))
Total amonut = CALCULATE(SUM(Test1[Quot_Amount]),ALLEXCEPT(Test1,Test1[Oppo_OpportunityId]))
Average1 = CALCULATE(SUM(Test1[Quot_Amount]),ALLEXCEPT(Test1,Test1[Oppo_OpportunityId]))/CALCULATE(COUNT(Test1[Quot_isquote]),ALLEXCEPT(Test1,Test1[Oppo_OpportunityId]))

Create a table, select the Opportunity and measure as values, you will get the desired result.

1.png