Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Defect Rate Formula

I am VERY new to PowerBI and have been struggling with calculating a defect rate for weeks. Please help!

I have a table that has R (regular) and W (warranty) orders. I want to divide the InvoiceQty of the W orders by the InvoiceQty of the R orders to get the defect rate. I have tried many approaches and variations. Here is my current formula in the Query Editor: 

DefectRate = DIVIDE(CALCULATE(SUMX([InvoiceQty], [OrderType] = "W"),CALCULATE(SUMX([InvoiceQty],[OrderType]="R"))

The current error it gives me is a Token RightParen Expected Error. I have no idea what this means. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Vvelarde
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous

Hi, are using DAX in Query Editor (This use Power Query Language).

To obtain this you can create a New Measure.

DEFECTRATE =
DIVIDE (
    CALCULATE (
        SUM ( [InvoiceQty] ),
        FILTER ( YOURTABLE, YOURTABLE[OrderType] = "W" )
    ),
    CALCULATE (
        SUM ( [InvoiceQty] ),
        FILTER ( YOURTABLE, YOURTABLE[OrderType] = "R" )
    )
)

Regards

Victor

Lima - Peru

Lima - Peru

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Vvelarde
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous

Hi, are using DAX in Query Editor (This use Power Query Language).

To obtain this you can create a New Measure.

DEFECTRATE =
DIVIDE (
    CALCULATE (
        SUM ( [InvoiceQty] ),
        FILTER ( YOURTABLE, YOURTABLE[OrderType] = "W" )
    ),
    CALCULATE (
        SUM ( [InvoiceQty] ),
        FILTER ( YOURTABLE, YOURTABLE[OrderType] = "R" )
    )
)

Regards

Victor

Lima - Peru

Lima - Peru
Anonymous
Not applicable