Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

powerbirino3
Frequent Visitor

Debug DAX (Thoughts about it)

Hi guys

I've been working with Power BI Desktop for about 8 months a lot of hours (at work and at home).

Without doubt, the thing that has made me lose more time is making "difficult" measures. I quote difficult, because, they aren't super difficult calculations, but without a way to debug, sometimes it's difficult to know what calculations are being done behind and how.

For example, something so apparently "easy" as making a total in a matrix as you want, requires (maybe) using SUMMARIZE or CALCULATE or other combination of functions with several lines inside, and you have to imagine more or less, the input, the calculations inside, and you can only see the output result (if it doesn't give error before...). If you are a programmer (as me), this can be difficult to achieve, because if I want to do a simply measure where total would be:

total = total + measure

That simply line like that isn't possible to do in DAX (or at least I've never seen it or been able to do it. I know with VAR you can, but you can't aggregate)

Some of you maybe are thinking: "Well, you can do your calculations in a Calculated Table or in a measure and you can see the result in a table or in a KPI" (if that's the case)

Yes, sometimes it's useful, but that's useless if you need to keep the Context, without Context, that method is useless.

I googled about debugging DAX and the few results I've seen, they talk about "DAX Studio" or other methods, but actually it isn't really what I'm looking for.