Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

syasmin25
Helper V
Helper V

Days Enrolled to Calculate Attendance

Hello, 

I am trying to calculate attendance for a School. I am still very new to DAX and needed some help. I am calculating Days Enrolled for Students to Calculate Attendance. I have a table (tStudent_Enrollment) that has the Student ID and their Enter and Leave Dates. And I have another table that has the Calendar Days. I have a Binary Column(Days-Count) where "1" means School Day and "0" means Holiday. I have tried to create relationship and calculate the days enrolled but I am unable to create two relationships to connect the School Date with that of the Enter and Leave Date. Please help me out! I am attaching images of the two tables here. 
Thank you for your time and consideration.
tStudent_Enrollment:
Capture.PNG

tSchedule:

Capture.PNG

Update 02.26.2020 

I tried to get the days enrolled from the two tables that I had provided above in picures. One is a date table that has 0 for Holidays and 1 for School days in Days-Count column. The holidays are not only Weenkends but also Winter Break,SpringBreak,National Holiday, etc. 
The formula that I have used to calculate Days Enrolled is:

Days =

Var TBL_Date = CALENDAR('tStudent_Enrollment'[Enter_Date],'tStudent_Enrollment'[Leave_Date])

Var TBL_FinalDate =
ADDCOLUMNS(TBL_Date,
"School_Days",IF(WEEKDAY([Date],2)>= 6,0,1),
"Off_Days",IFERROR(LookupValue('tStudent_Enrollment'[DAY_COUNT],'tStudent_Enrollment'[School_Date],[Date]),0)
)
Return
SUMX(TBL_FinalDate,IF([School_Days]=1 && [Off_Days]=0, 1,0))

However, the days enrolled shows 140 as of yesterday for most whereas, it is supposed to be under 120.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

That's great @syasmin25!

For simplicity, you can have a calculated column for handling blank date values: