Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DominicHill
Frequent Visitor

Dax

Hi Folks, Please be gentle! I have been using DAX for a couple of months, and have managed quite well so far.

The problem is have is:

The powerpivot data looks like this. I have stripped out columns you don't need to see

Portcheck2Route BuilderUlitmate Trade RouteTrade 2Num_of_callsPort_call_numberCheck Col
NewP Indian Sub Cont & Middle East to Far East 815220
Ignore   825221
NewRIndian Sub Cont & Middle East to Sub Saharan Africa via Sub Saharan Africa835222
ignore   845223
newrIndian Sub Cont & Middle East to Indian Sub Cont & Middle East via Indian Sub Cont & Middle East855224
NewRIndian Sub Cont & Middle East to Far East via Far East865225
ignore   875226
VoyEnd   885227

What I want to achieve is where Portcheck2 is equal to "VoyEnd", then I 'join' the 'Ultimate Trade Route' with the items in Trade 2. - so I end up with 'Indian Sub Cont & Middle East to Far East via Sub Saharan Africa and via Indian Sub Cont & Middle East'. 

The Check Col are unique_ID's - I have just copied them, and I can reference them with the port_call_number and number of calls.  For the life of me I can't figure out how to do this!  I know that you 'don't do loops' in BI,  but this strikes me as the only way of doing.    

In longhand I am thinking

If the PortCheck2 column is equal to "VoyEnd", then take the value of the ultimate trade route where the data started (Lookupvalue of the Ulitmate Trade route at Col Check, Col Check-[Port_call_number]+1), and then join all non blank rows of Trade 2 between the start of Check Col, and the End of check col.   The Check Col boundaries are calculated using port_call_number.

Of course, this may not be possible, in which case I need to find another way!

Hope someone can help me!

3 REPLIES 3