Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Dates are coming in in different formats from Sharepoint

I'm a novice with Power BI but I have a problem with the sharepointlist I have as a data source that I can't find an answer to.

The dates below are entered in the same format in sharepoint. But when I connect the list into powerBI the date formats differ. They are [Created] in september and october only, but as you can see, the month (10) is placed where the day should be.

Same is true for the [Modified] column and other date columns. 

I've tried converting to date since it comes in as text but if doesn't correct the issue. 

powerbisharepointerror.png

Thanks in advance for any help! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous ,

If your date format in origin data source is like dd-mm-yyyy, you can add a culture parameter into the Table.TransformColumnTypes function, it will change the way power bi change text type into the datetime type, such as following example:

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMjDWN7DUNzIwtFQwMrIyMAAiJR0lI0t9AwuIqIG5lYmZlam5UmwsAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [CreatedDate = _t, ModiftDate = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"CreatedDate", type datetime}, {"ModiftDate", type datetime}},"fy-NL")
in
    #"Changed Type"

6.PNG

BTW, pbix as attached.

Best regards,

Community Support Team _ Dong Li
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Gordonlilj