Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

anthonyloh
Helper I
Helper I

Date field from SAP BW Query coming in as text

Hello,

I am trying to use the date functionality in Power BI with the date fields coming across from my BW query but they are coming across as text fields and I can't change the format in Power BI to a date. When I highlight the Calendar Day field, the data type options in the toolbar are greyed out. Also, I tried but can't seem to create a new measure that converts the text in Calendar Day to a true date value. I'm still new to DAX but I did find the DATEVALUE function, however I can't seem to refrence the Calandar Day field in my formula. Ultimately, I want my power BI report to show yesterday's date so I need a dynamic date filter.

Has anyone else come across this and how are you handling dates in your Power BI reports?

Thank you,

Anthony

9 REPLIES 9
v-danhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @anthonyloh,

Could you please tell me if your problem has been solved? If it is, could you please mark the helpful replies as Answered?

Regards,

Daniel He

Community Support Team _ Daniel He
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
v-danhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @anthonyloh,

Can you tell me which type your data is connected? Direct query or import? If former, I am afraid you could not format your row data, due to the limitation in DirectQuery and SAP Business Warehouse, you could refer to this link:https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/desktop-directquery-sap-bw#additional-modeling-restriction...

And there are many limitations with Direct query in Power BI Desktop, you could refer to this link:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/desktop-directquery-about#implications-of-using-directquer...