Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

C3Jacks18
Regular Visitor

Date/Time/Timezone Issue

Good morning, 

I am new to Microsoft BI and learning the tool now. I uploaded three data files and combined them and I have a date columns that look like this: 01/29/2019 11:03 PM CST

I just want the dates, not the time. Currently, it is in text format but when I go to update it to just date it gives me a error. How do I correct this issue? I been looking all over online and none of the solutions so far I have come across have worked and keCapture.JPGeps giving me a error. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yueyunzh-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi , @C3Jacks18 

According to your description, you just want the Date in your text. Right?

I think you need to solve it in your Power Query Editor. You can use the Text.Split()  to realize it.

You can put this M code in "Advanced Editor" to refer to :

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMtQ3stQ3MjC0VDA0tDIwVgjwVXAODlGK1QFJGUNkDEysTAxQZZA04ZQyQJOyhJkHlDFGkzEyAUoZGSoYGCFLxQIA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [#"Item Revision Date" = _t]),
    test = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Item Revision Date", type text}}),
    Custom1 = Table.TransformColumns(test,{"Item Revision Date",(x)=> try Date.From(Text.Split(x," "){0})  otherwise null    }),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Custom1,{{"Item Revision Date", type date}})
in
    #"Changed Type"

Then we can meet your need:

vyueyunzhmsft_0-1670207799417.png

Thank you for your time and sharing, and thank you for your support and understanding of PowerBI! 

Best Regards,

Aniya Zhang