Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

bacon6actual
Frequent Visitor

Date Table Relationship to Multiple Fact Tables

I am still learning powerbi and I have trouble understanding the relationship results when dealing with multiple fact tables and one date deminsion. I work at a police department that runs a software solution for about 20 other local police departments. I am trying to pull crime stats for multiple agencies into visualizations for Offense Reports, Arrest, Calls for Service,...etc... I auto generated a calendar table and I am attempting to connect this date table to multiple fact tables with corresponding dates,... so primary date table connects to offense report dates, arrest dates, and calls for service dates. I also created a union table for all agency codes and connected this one sinlge agency table to each of the fact tables. What I am trying to acheive is visualizations that respect the date filter for all fact tables and displays totals for the fact tables at an agency level. I am doing something wrong because the numbers are not correct. If anyone wants to help me out I would be happy to setup a web session. I will include a picture of my relationship in hoped that this will help. The two columns totals on the left are correct when created from the actual query tables, but if combined based on relationships the data is incorrect as evident in the far right column. 

Thanks in advance from your friends in law enforcement, 

Screen Shot 2016-09-06 at 4.06.19 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-09-06 at 4.04.38 PM.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi There,

Please refer to this blog by Matt Allignton for solving your problem.

http://exceleratorbi.com.au/multiple-relationships-between-tables-in-dax/

Thanks & Regards,

Bhavesh

Thanks & Regards,
Bhavesh

Love the Self Service BI.