Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jhorta
Frequent Visitor

Date Slicer for multiple columns in different tables

I'm new in the BI and Power BI world, I'm creating a PoC in PowerBI. My data sources are all scattered, mainly on spreadsheets, and I'm also pulling data from Google Analytics.

In one of my tables and in the Google Analytics data I have a date field, that is completely unrelated. However, I would like to include a date slicer for the page, so that the user can see the numbers on those dates. The numbers visualized are not related, one is coming from an app DB and the others are related to Google Analytics.

So, in order to filter all the page based on one date slicer, I would have to connect them in some fashion which I still don't know what would be the best way to achieve it. Or will I have to code my own slicer?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @jhorta,

You need to create a Calendar table and them make a relationship between the tables that way you canuse the calendar table to make the visuals / slicers you need and all the information will be transform based on that.

On this post you can find several ways to create a calendar but if you google "POWER BI Calendar" you will find lots of different ways to create a calendar table.

Just as a best pratice be sure that the calendar table is starting on 1 January and ending on 31 December (this can be different years)

Regards,

MFelix

Regards

Miguel Félix

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Check out my blog: Power BI em Português

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @jhorta,