Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

lbudack
Advocate III
Advocate III

Date Dimension Model Relationship Woes

I'm still learning proper data modeling, and I suspect one or more of these issues is true of my problem: 

1. I need another dimension table to parse out some values but not sure which ones.
  2. I'm missing a needed relationship somewhere.
  3. My existing relationship settings could be incorrect. 

Attached is a screenshot of my existing model. I'm having trouble with the dates. Do I need to link the date dimension to all existing dates in both of the other tables? I'm not getting the expected results when I filter by any date. I've read every previous date and data modeling post I could find, and I'm likely just more confused than when I started. 

Currently, the MktOpportunity field OpportunityNumber is linked to the OpportunityNumber in the MktCalendar table. 

The Date Dimension FullDateAlternateKey is linked to the StartDate in the MktCalendar table. (Not sure if this is correct.) 

Marketing Data Model.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

You have to do one of the two:

- Either you link the date to the MktOpportunity instead of linking it to MktCalendar; or

- You apply to the relationship between MktOpportunity and MktCalendar the both way relatioship and should work fine.

Hope it fixes it, let me know.

Best Regards,

DR

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

You have to do one of the two:

- Either you link the date to the MktOpportunity instead of linking it to MktCalendar; or

- You apply to the relationship between MktOpportunity and MktCalendar the both way relatioship and should work fine.

Hope it fixes it, let me know.

Best Regards,

DR