Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Andy1927
Helper I
Helper I

Date Bins / Groups

Hi,

I'm having to rebuild my PowerBI report because some column names in the live data source have changed. Is it possible to create a conditional column in Power Query where I can group the time between Todays date and an end date that exists in the data?

I'd like to do this using M language if possible

e.g. todays date is 14/06/2021 and the End Date in my data is 01/07/2021 = 0-2mths

14/06/2021 and the End Date in my data is 01/10/2021 = 3-5mths

14/06/2021 and the End Date in my data is 01/05/2022 = 6-11mths

and so on all the way to 24mths+

I do also have null values in this date column so I'll have inevitable errors that I'll need to address which I may to ask assistance about.

I'm quite new to Power BI by the way

Thanks,

Andy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Andy1927 ,

You can use dax to create a calculated column, it is much simpler than use power query, you can try to use the following calculated column:

BINS =
VAR A =
    DATEDIFF ( TODAY (), Table[End Date], MONTH )
RETURN
    IF (
        ISBLANK ( Table[End Date] ),
        BLANK (),
        SWITCH (
            TRUE (),
            A <= 2, "0-2mths",
            A >= 3
                && A <= 5, "3-5mths",
            A >= 6
                && A <= 11, "6-11mths",
            A >= 24, "24mth+"
        )
    )

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Best Regards,

Dedmon Dai

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

thanks for posting these links!

I'm still unsure if this is the best way to achieve creating Bins for my dates - would DAX be a better option?