Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

woodyinoz

Dataset Refresh Error

Hi,

Please bear with me as I'm new to this and still finding my way around!

I have a dataset that looks at an Excel spreadsheet which is on our LAN.

I have been looking to get this dataset on a scheduled refresh so that the data will always be as up-to-date as possible for users viewing it as a published report on our intranet (using the generated https link). However, I am getting the following error against the dataset:

Last refresh failed: Thu Jul 12 2018 08:22:20 GMT+0100 (GMT Daylight Time)
Scheduled refresh has been disabled.
Hide details

Data source error:Scheduled refresh has been disabled due to at least one data source not having credentials provided. Please provide credentials for all data sources, and then turn scheduled refresh back on.
Cluster URI:WABI-UK-SOUTH-redirect.analysis.windows.net
Activity ID:26ce1c09-d99a-423f-8188-5680c37695ac
Request ID:8f946d3a-61e3-1b54-92e7-b5180aea1141
Time:

2018-07-12 07:22:20Z

The credentials used are Active Directory account details which do have access to the network location and file. If I test all connections the datasource in question says connection successful.

This is driving me mad now... Can anyone point me in the right direction please? I'm using an enterprise gateway installed on a server, not a personal gateway.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

2 REPLIES 2
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @woodyinoz

(1)How do you connect to your data source, do you use an FTP URL through the "From Web" choice?

if so, you are meant to set Schedule Refresh in Power BI Web for an Excel file hosted on a domain internal ftp server.