Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

J_Tanna
Frequent Visitor

Data loading incorrectly, Issue with data type of data.

Hello All,

I am a beginner in powerBI learning it and exploring it. I am facing one problem while loading data from a excel file to powerBI desktop. 

Sample data in from excel (I am working on sample call center data)

Queue NamesDepartment CallsHandledAbandonedAbdn %Longest WaitAWTLongest CallAHTTotal ConnectedMax Wait to Abandon
AA CC Emergency RepairRepair1551203522.6%0:08:310:00:510:27:230:02:326:43:290:05:38

When I load this data into powerBI desktop it loads like this

Queue NamesDepartmentCallsHandledAbandonedAbdn %Longest WaitAWTLongest CallAHT
AA CC Emergency RepairRepair1551203522.6%31-Dec-99 12:08:31 AM

31-Dec-99

12:08:51 AM

31-Dec-99

12:27:23 AM

31-Dec-99

12:02:32 AM

There is problem while loading the duration and when I convert this to time then it is displaying time only like 12:08:31 AM.

What to do now? Guide me

Thank you for your time and help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Actually, there are some strange things going on with durations in Excel and Power Query.

I created the following video; you may want to skip to 2:37 when the Excel file is imported in Power BI Desktop.

Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @J_Tanna,

The error is caused by you were attempting to change a date/time value to duration.

As a workaround, you can first change the data type to text. Then, split the date/time column in order to extract time part. Then, change the new column which only contains time value to duration.

1.PNG

2.PNG

3.PNG

Best regards,
Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu