Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Data colors based on another field values

I am pretty new to POWER BI. I have the below chart in Tableau and am trying to replicate this on to POWER BI. But not finding the option.

I have two Charts - Category and count of tickets, Subcategory and count of tickets. In Tableau I created a chart for Subcategory and simply drag-drop the Category field to color control. Which will give me the Subcategory bars coloured based on their respective Categry values. But struggling to find this option in POWER BI. Do we have this option in POWER BI ?

If you look at the "EUSR Provisioning" in the first chart, we have to subcategories underneath it which is Provision and Deprovision. Now the same color is applied in the second chart. I have this in Tableau but not sure on how to do this in POWER BI

Capture1.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Vvelarde
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous

Hi, look the PBIX. with Conditional formatting you can create a measure and assign a color to each category (Yes, you need to know all the categories).

imgFormat.png

ColorFormat =
SWITCH (
    SELECTEDVALUE ( Table1[Category] ),
    "A"; "#000000",
    "B"; "#ff0000",
    "C"; "#ffa500",
    "D"; "#551a8b",
    "E"; "#98fb98"
)

A sample is attached.

Regards

Victor

Lima - Peru

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Same here, I have graphs with more than 50 categories and it takes a lot of time formatting one by one.
If someone can help us please!!!

how it looks in tableau vs how it looks in power bi

Picture1.jpgPicture2.jpg

Vvelarde
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous