Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MichaelP2020
Frequent Visitor

Data Source utilisation without provision of credentials to Designers (MS SQL DB)

Hi all

I'm fairly new to Power BI and the Power BI Service. I'm trying to determine if there is a solution / workaround to scenario I've outlined below..

Essentially I want to be able to provide access (to Power BI Content Designers) to an MS SQL Database for them to create Reports / Datasets from this Source. In addition, any subsquently published content to the Power BI Service should leverage a 'Service Account' (used / specified by Designers as part of the Dataset setup / deployment) that would be utilised to retrieve content from the Data Source (when Consumers run the associated Report/s). 

The obstacel here, is that ideally, I'd like to avoid sharing the Service Account credentials with Designers.

Thanks

Michael

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-henryk-mstf
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @MichaelP2020 ,

I agree with @lbendlin. There is no necessary connection between the publish report and the gateway connection. The role of the gateway refers to the official document:

v-henryk-mstf_0-1613009829116.png

Best Regards,
Henry

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
v-henryk-mstf
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @MichaelP2020 ,

I agree with @lbendlin. There is no necessary connection between the publish report and the gateway connection. The role of the gateway refers to the official document:

v-henryk-mstf_0-1613009829116.png

Best Regards,
Henry

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

lbendlin
Super User
Super User