Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Data Modelling - matrix visualization - weekly/monthly/90 day view

Hi Team, 

Had to recreate the post as I am unable to post edits to my previous post.

A power BI novice here.

I am connected to an on prem sql server. I have done some filtering on the data to get it to show as below :

Employee

Project start date

Project end date

Client

John

9/3/2020 8:30:00 AM

9/4/2020 5:30:00 PM

Abc solutions

Beth

9/2/2020 11:30:00 AM

9/2/2020 12:30:00 PM

Omega technologies

Beth

9/2/2020 1:30:00 PM

9/2/2020 5:30:00 PM

Sea technolgies

Mary

9/4/2020 1:30:00 PM

9/4/2020 5:30:00 PM

Horizon solutions

Now i want to convert this data into a weekly view where the weekdays become columns and the corresponding data for clients goes under the appropriate weekday column for that employee as shown below. If the employee doesn't have an engagement for that day then we show them as open. :

employee

8/31/2020

9/1/2020

9/2/2020

9/3/2020

9/4/2020

John

Open

Open

Open

Abc Solutions: 8:30 am - 5 :30 pm 

Abc Solutions: 8:30 am - 5 :30 pm

Beth

Open

Open

Omega technologies: 11.30 am – 12.30pm

Sea technologies : 1 :30 pm – 5 :30 pm

Open

Open

Mary

Open

Open

Open

Open

Horizon solutions:1:30 pm – 5:30 pm

I have been trying to do this but it's either hardcoding or feels like a hack. I am Almost on the verge of giving up on power bi and trying to build a asp.net. app.  I can do this on c# but it's time taking. How does one approach this ? Any suggestions or solutions are highly appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@Anonymous - Well, you would need a Date table I think. You would then need something like Open Tickets - https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Quick-Measures-Gallery/Open-Tickets/m-p/409364#M147