Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CB13
Frequent Visitor

Data Model Feedback

Hi,

I am sketching out my pass at a data model and have a question for the hive as I am relatively new to trying to figure out schemas, and I think my data is a bit of mix with transactions that have elements I need to filter by.

So far I have 3 very large (row-wise) tables + 1 4th dimension table (employee) - I'm trying to generalize terms with a crude example so it makes sense:

1. Visit table: 1 row per visit. 

2. Test table: 1 row per test; many-to-one relationship to Visit table. 

3. Item table: 1 row per item; many-to-one relationship to Test table. 

4. Employee: 1 row per employee; 1 to many relationship possible with Visit, Test, and Item tables.

Rough sketchRough sketch

I'm getting stuck with how to link the employee data. If I connect to each of the 3 tables (Visit, Test, Item) on the respective owner ID I get an ambiguous reference - but I also feel I need to maintain the links from Visit to Test to Item. 

Do I need 3 copies of the Owner table - 1 to link to each table? I believe this would mean if I used Office as a filter though, it would have to pick "which" employee table to pull it from (ie: the one linked to Item) - but then it would only show the values of offices in assocated with Item records, which is not a guaruntee (even though my poor example it is the case).

Thanks in advance for any suggestions / help - I am worried I'm heading down the wrong path from the start and would rather correct early!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@CB13 ,

I'm afraid in the current data model, you can't achieve this goal. The only way is as you said, to create 3 copies of owner table and build relationship between those copy table and Visit, Test and Item table.

Regards,

Jimmy Tao