Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

SolarGuru

Daily Data Vs. Benchmark From Two Querries

Hi,

I'm still relatively new with PowerBI and I'm hoping I can get some help with creating a specific measure and graph that haven't been able to crack so far.

I have two queries.  One pulls a sharepoint data populated with daily kWh generated by a Solar PV system.  The table includes 1 entry per day from many different PV systems. This part seems straight forward. 

The second query pulls data from another Sharepoint table.  This table pulls a benchmark for how much generation a system is expected to generation in a given month.  The table contains multiple projects and 12 rows (1 per month) for each project.  Each project's 12 rows is dated 1/1/2018-12/1/2018 if the entries in this table were created in 2018.  It will have 1/1/2019 - 12/1/2019 if the entries were created in 2019.  It will never have entries in both 2018 and 2019.  From this data, I can estimate how much data is expected in a given month by dividing monthly amounts by the number of days in the month.

I would like to create an bar graph that allows the user to show the last 90 days of daily production from one speciic project (Query 1) compared to the relevant benchmark for that day.  At risk of stating the same thing over, I would have 90 data points for actual production and 3x30(ish) bars for each month's benchmark.  

I have so far created one table by appending Query 1 to Query 2 and merging the data so that I have a column with date, production, project name, and whether that row is a benchmark amount or an actual amount.