Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

justivan
Helper II
Helper II

DAX measure to filter based on 2 dates

Hello PBI Community,

I'm new to Power BI and I've been trying to create a dashboard for our company to use. As I'm working for a Destination Management Company, the report is normally summarized based on arrival dates per seasonality ( or as we call it Business on the books ) as shown in the sample below ( last year's summary ). I have a 'Bookings' table and a 'Date' table where [InDate] is the related field to my 'Date' table. The goal is to make the same report (by arrival date ) but I want to show the previous week or month if desired based on the reservation date so that we can see the movement each week or month. I hope that makes sense. I appreciate any help in advance.  Thank you.

Measure used.

Total Pax = SUMX( Bookings, Bookings[Adult] + ( Bookings[Child] / 2 ) )

I also use this measure in an Area Chart to show last year's.

Pax LY = CALCULATE( [Total Pax], SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR( Dates[Date] ))

Capture.PNG

This is the sample 'Bookings' table.

Capture2.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tex628
Community Champion
Community Champion

@justivan 

This was actually abit more complicated than i initially understood 🙂 But i did some things and ths is the result:

image.pngimage.png

Something i noticed, as you can see in the images above there is an increase in January that i didn't expect. This is because there are transactions like this: 

image.png

Either way this is what i did, 

First of all i created a duplicate of your Date table and made sure that this table did not have any active relationships:

image.png

Following this I changed ResDate in the matrix to Date_2[Date] and added a slicer on the same field:
image.png
Finally I changed the DAX on the Cumulative measure:

Cumulative Pax =