Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

DAX _ how to return correct value of a division while having a multiple selection on a slicer

Hello everyone,

I’m new to DAX  and I work connected to sql server DB in direct query. My DB contains several fact tables aggregated on different levels ( market or product and different locations[country, region, sector and UGA] ). For instance, fact_sog_mkt_sct : fact on market and sector level ,  fact_sog_sct : fact on product and sector level .

I have the following two tables where quoata product and quota markets are measures :

region1.png

Quoata product on sector level is :  

QUOTA_PRD_SCT = SUM(FACT_SOG_SCT[GSO_STD_SCT])/sum(FACT_SOG_REG[GSO_STD_REG])  (REG= region)

I want to add an option where there is a possibility of multiple selection of different regions , but when I do that, my measurement return wrong values because instead of divinding the SUM(FACT_SOG_SCT[GSO_STD_SCT]) by the corresponding value of the region it belongs to (for instance B0B01 belonfs to region B) , it instead devides by all the regions. (see pic below)

region2.png

I know that by adding the column region to my 2nd table, I will have the correct values but I don't want to do that so 

I was wondering if there is a way to change my dax formula in order to avoid this problem or change the table in order to hide a column if possible

Thank you for the help,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous ,

I have checked your model and you issues is that you have a cross filtering through tables so you need to redo your measure to:

QUOTA_PRD_SCT_recalc =
SUM ( FACT_prdct_sector[GSO_STD_SCT] )
    / CALCULATE (
        SUM ( FACT_prdt_region[GSO_STD_REG] );
        FILTER ( FACT_prdct_sector; SUM ( FACT_prdct_sector[GSO_STD_SCT] ) <> BLANK () )
    )