Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Aj_BI
Frequent Visitor

DAX Query to Find Next Value

Hi All,

I am new in PowerBI and need your help!

I have a table like below having the Date Time Stamp as first column with Sales in second column. What I need is a formula to compute a third column(Sales-1) which can give me values from Sales column but first record as blank and 2nd record should show 1st record of Sales column. Similarly, I need another column as Sales-2 and so on. 

Point to be noted: I am using Direct Query so I can not use any Index column from M Query/Query Editor Page. Thanks in advance for your help.

Date TimeSalesSales-1Sales-2Sales-3Sales-4Sales-5
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Aj_BI ,

Try this:

Rank =
RANKX (
    ALL ( TableTest ),
    CALCULATE ( MAX ( TableTest[Date_Time] ) ),
    ASC,
    DENSE
)
Sales-1 =
VAR index = [Rank] - 1
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
        SUM ( TableTest[Sales] ),
        FILTER ( ALL ( TableTest ), index = [Rank] )
    )
Sales-2 =
VAR index = [Rank] - 2
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
    )

50000.PNG

Best Regards,
Icey

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Aj_BI ,

Try this:

Rank =
RANKX (
    ALL ( TableTest ),
    CALCULATE ( MAX ( TableTest[Date_Time] ) ),
    ASC,
    DENSE
)
Sales-1 =
VAR index = [Rank] - 1
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
    )
Sales-2 =
VAR index = [Rank] - 2
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
    )

50000.PNG

Best Regards,
Icey

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Aj_BI
Frequent Visitor

Hi @Icey Icey and @AlB AIB, first thanks a lot for your help and time. I really appreciate that.