Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

D3nnisd
Frequent Visitor

DAX Product() function

Hi,

I'm a IT student currently self learning DAX as part of my upcomming internship.  I am using this guide to learn and Contoso Sales sample for this part.  So far its fairly straight forward, until now. I haven't been able to figure out the use of Product.

The guide tells me to use the Product() function and i'm just taking over what the guide says. But now i get a very different result than the guide tells me i should have.

The guide tells me that the result of using Simple Product = PRODUCT(Channel[Channel]) should be 24, but i get 0.791440856024882.  See the following screenshot for refference:

Product_function.PNG

As far as the guide tells me, product should have done 1 x 2 x 3 x 4 = 24 . The information on the MSDN docs doesnt tell me much either.

Anyone able to give me a answer?

Thanks allot!

Cheers, Dennis

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The Channel column is defined as Whole Number, it should be a Decimal - do that and it returns 24.

That said - it's funny how it behave with an integer! I suggest submitting the issue to Microsoft.

Marco Russo - SQLBI

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
D3nnisd
Frequent Visitor

@marcorusso@Greg_Deckler@Anonymous

It's a confirmed bug, it'll be fixed in November release!

Thanks for the input!

~ Dennis

D3nnisd
Frequent Visitor

Alright , Thanks !

I have made a bug report here: https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Issues/Product-not-giving-right-results-if-data-type-is-a-whole-num...

Thanks for the information! I'll keep on learning :)!

Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User