Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

lwklwk98
Helper I
Helper I

DAX Help

Hello! I am a total beginner in PowerBI and I am stuck on this issue for a day and I really cannot figure this out and I would really need your help! 

This is quite an elementary problem and probably it has been answered before but I have been searching and I cannot find anything and here I am. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

I have this dataset (Table1): Each Row represents a trip to the supermarket.

SuperMarketGoods PurchasedJan21 QuantityJan ExpenditureFeb21 QuantityFeb ExpenditureMar Quantity...
AFurniture1$3002$400...
AGroceries8$8013$110...
ASpices5$504$30...
BFurniture1$2501$260...
BGroceries12$11015$130...
BSpices2$153$25...

What I would like to obtain would be: 

PeriodA_FurnitureB_FurnitureA_GroceriesB_GroceriesA_SpicesB_SpicesTotal QuantityTotal Expenditure% Change
Jan21$300$250$80$110$50$1529$805-
Feb21$400$260$110$130$30$2538$99523.6%
Mar21...........................
Apr21..............................

My attempt so far yields me the column for Total Quantity and Expenditure using a DAX as follows:
TableName =

Union( 

Row ( "Period", "2021-01", "Total Quantity", Sum( Table1[Jan21 Quantity] ), "Total Expenditure", Sum( Table1[Jan21 Expenditure] ) ),
           Row ( ....
)

Is there an easier way to do this and how do I write a DAX to filter the different types of Good Purchased and for the % change? 

Thank you so much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
HotChilli
Super User
Super User

I'll post the code (which you can place in the Advanced Editor in Power Query).  This'll either confound you or inspire you.  Let's hope it's the latter.

Basically you'll be unpivotting the column pairs.  To do this you need consistency in the naming of pairs e.g. Jan21 for 2 columns or Jan for 2 columns.

Here's the code:

let