Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ksobota
Regular Visitor

DAX Function for COUNTIF and/or CALCULATE

Hello,

I am fairly new to Power BI and am even newer to the use of DAX functions. For years I have worked in Excel and know how I would do this there, but am finding the same formula I would use there does not work in Power BI. Basically, I need the DAX equivalent of the COUNTIF function (such as =COUNTIF(B$1:B$50,D11)) in Excel.

I have two tables. In my EMPLOYMENTS table, the Member_C column contains the User IDs of people who have/had a job. If a person has had more than one job, their User ID would appear more than once in this column, once for each job they have/had. In my INDIVIDUAL table, the ID column lists all User IDs in the system. 

What I want to do is set up a new column in the INDIVIDUAL table that counts the number of times a User ID appears in the EMPLOYMENTS table if it matches the User ID of each row in the INDIVIDUAL table.

If I were to do this in Excel, I would create a column on my INDIVIDUAL table and each cell would have the formula: =COUNTIF('EMPLOYMENTS'!B$1:B$10,D9)

I need to figure out what the equivalent of doing that in DAX would be so that for each row in INDIVIDUAL table, it will look at the value in the ID column and count how many times that specific value appears in the EMPLOYMENTS table.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-caliao-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @ksobota,

Based on your scenario, you can use the DAX below on your INDIVIDUAL table.

CountUser = CALCULATE(COUNTA(EMPLOYMENTS[Member_C]),FILTER(ALL(EMPLOYMENTS),EMPLOYMENTS[Member_C]=INDIVIDUAL[User_ID]))

Capture.PNG

Regards,

Charlie Liao

View solution in original post

31 REPLIES 31
Anonymous
Not applicable