Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

awhite2589
Frequent Visitor

DAX Filters

Hello!

I am new to PBI and have a question regarding DAX filters.

Let me lay the situation out. I have a column "Material Descriptions" and a column "Billing Doc #. There are multiple "Material Descriptions" for each "Billing Doc #". I am attempting to single out certain "Material Descriptions", find there corresponding "Billing Doc #'s", and then loop around and see what Materials are sold with the initial Material description search.

I created this calculated column:

= if( Table[Material Description] = "Material" , Table[Billing Doc #], Blank () )

This captures all of the billing Doc #'s I need, but when I use this as a slicer it only shows the original "Material Description" that I searched.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
WA

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @awhite2589 ,

I created a sample pbix file(see attachment), please check whether that is what you want.

DAX Filter.JPG

Best Regards

Community Support Team _ Rena
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
awhite2589
Frequent Visitor

Thank you for the quick reply!

Ex. I would like to identify that Orange has a Billing doc # of 4 and 3. Then, back track and find that Purple was sold in the same bill.

I hope this clarifies things.

Thank you!

Material Description   Billing Doc #
Blue                             1
Red                              2
Green                          2
Orange                       4
Purple                         3
Yellow                        1
Yellow                         2
Orange                        3

Hi @awhite2589 ,