Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

achandlerworth
Frequent Visitor

DAX: Count repeat users

I need help with a formula to calculate/bucket the number of users who've used a system more than X times in a time period.  

I know how to do this in other systems but I'm still new to DAX.

Using this simple data

User Date       Activity
A     8/1/2019  1
A     8/1/2019  1
A     8/2/2019  1
B     8/1/2019  1
C     8/3/2019  1
C     8/3/2019  1
C     8/4/2019  1
C     8/5/2019  1

I'd like a measure called

"2x - Number of users with 2 activity days" 

Since A & C have activity on two separate days this should = 2

"3x - Number of users with 3 activity days"

Since only C has activity on three separate days this should = 1

I'm essentially looking for an aggregation of an aggregation. I need to count where the distinct count of the combination of User&Day = 2 and again where it = 3.

note, this calculation needs to be on the fly if possible so that it's dependant on the date range I select.

Any thoughts?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@JarroVGIT, Thank you for your assistance.

I had to tweak your formula to get the results I needed.  But you've set me on the path to better understanding some of the capabilities.

The formula should read

2x - Number of users with 2 active days =
COUNTROWS(FILTER( SUMMARIZECOLUMNS( Sheet1[User],"@Total",DISTINCTCOUNT(Sheet1[Date])) ,[@Total] = 2) )

It needed to be distinctcount since I don't care how many times a user uses something on a given day, I just care if they used it.
So in pseudo-code I want the

count of users where distinctcount(User&Day) = 2

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
JarroVGIT
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @achandlerworth ,