Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mlz

DAX Calculation for Collections %

I have a Tabular cube and need to calculate Collections %   (Collections / Charges)

BUT the denominator (Charges) to use should be the one highlighted in yellow (below).

In the picture, you will see Charge Dates across the top and Collection Dates along the left side.

For each Collection Date, I need to calulate Collection %. For example, the calculation for Collection Dates Jan, Feb and Mar should be:

Jan 2016                Feb 2016

Jan           11351 / 17171       

Feb           4213 / 17171         12098 / 18218

Mar           1032 / 17171          4801 / 18218

Capture.PNG

I am new to DAX and Tabular.  Played with FIRSTDATE() function but no luck.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Phil_Seamark
Employee
Employee

HI @mlz

Are you able to describe the tables that Collections and Charges come from?  This will help clarify what DAX might be needed.

To learn more about DAX visit : aka.ms/practicalDAX

Proud to be a Datanaut!

View solution in original post

So each collection has a related charge (i.e. many/one relationship between collections/charges)? If that is true, make sure a relationship is set up through the modeling tab, and then try the following measure:

% of Charge = CALCULATE(DIVIDE(SUM(Collections[Amount]),SUM(Charges[Amount])),Collections)

Is that getting closer to what you are looking for?

Hi @mlz,

Could you please share us some sample source data which we can copy and paste directly of the two tables if possible? So that we can make some proper tests. 

Also, if you can share us your pbix file with One Drive or Dropbox or something else. It will be more helpful for us to find a solution.

Thanks,
Xi Jin.

8 REPLIES 8
Phil_Seamark
Employee
Employee

HI @mlz