Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rsimcoe
Helper I
Helper I

DAX - Calculating Sales through prior month end

Hello,

I am fairly new to DAX and I am struggling in creating a measure that calculates the sum of sales through the prior month end. I have been able to calculate year to date sales but I only want my data to show through the prior month end. I want to have some visuals populate automatically in powerbi that will only show data year to date through the prior month end. Currently I would have to go in and adjust the filter on the visuals each month to get this same result.

Please let me know if you need an example of my data.

Thanks,

-Robert

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Good Morning @Anonymous,

So after further attempts last night I could still not get the final formula to work. What I ended up using was something that looks like this.

The Combined[Post date] is my column in my transactional data that houses the dates the sales were posted.

ActualsYTD = CALCULATE([TotalActuals], FILTER (ALL('Combined'[Post date]), 'Combined'[Post date] < DATE(YEAR(TODAY()),MONTH(NOW()),"01")))

I do not know if this is the ideal way to perform this calculation in DAX but it seems to be working.

Thanks,

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
aksl
Frequent Visitor

I'm trying to use this solution, but I come up with an error every time.  

Here is my language:

ActualsYTD = CALCULATE([Cumulative1], FILTER (ALL(Sheet5[Transaction Date]),'Sheet5'[Transaction Date])< DATE(YEAR(TODAY()),MONTH(NOW()),"01"))

The error I'm getting is as follows:

A function filter has been used in a true/false expression that is used as a table filter expression.  This is not allowed.  

I'm new to DAX, so any guidance is appreciated!

Hello,